Transforming Institutions Conference Schedule

Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014

5-8 p.m.               Registration Opening reception

6:30 p.m.             Keynote presentation in Christine Grant Ballroom Speaker: Freeman Hrabowski III, Ph.D., President, University of Maryland, Baltimore County


Friday, Oct. 24, 2014

7:30-8:15 a.m.     Breakfast in Christine Grant Ballroom

8:15-9:30 a.m.     Featured speaker: Adrianna Kezar, Ph.D., Professor, Rossier School of Education and Co-Director, Pullias Center for Higher Education, University of Southern California

9:45-11:45 a.m.   Concurrent sessions in Jesse Owens Room, Pat Summit/John Wooden Room, Theodore Roosevelt Room, Auditorium, and Palmer Pierce Ballrooms 1 and 2

12-1 p.m.            Lunch in Christine Grant Ballroom

12:30-2 p.m.        Panel of University Leaders

                                  Ann E. Austin, Ph.D., Professor of Higher, Adult, and Lifelong Education, Michigan State University

                                  Jack Friedlander, Ph.D., Executive Vice President, Educational Programs, Santa Barbara City College

                                  Barbara Sawrey, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of Undergraduate Education, University of California, San Diego

                                  Moisés Wasserman, Ph.D., Board Member of the UNESCO International Institute for Higher Education in Latin America and the Caribbean (IESALC) and Former                                    Rector and Professor Emeritus of the National University of Colombia

2:15-4:15 p.m.      Concurrent sessions in Jesse Owens Room, Pat Summit/John Wooden Room, Theodore Roosevelt Room, Auditorium and Palmer Pierce Ballrooms 1 and 2

4:30-5:45 p.m.      Reception in Lobby/Atrium

6-7 p.m.               Dinner in Christine Grant Ballroom

7-8 p.m.               Keynote presentations in Christine Grant Ballroom

                                   Linda Slakey, Ph.D., Consultant, AAU STEM Initiative

                                   Howard Gobstein, SMTI Co-Director and the Executive Vice President for Research, Innovation and STEM Education at APLU

8 p.m.                  Closing remarks Brenda Capobianco, Ed.D., Interim Director, Discovery Learning Research Center