Close
RFA for East Africa. Now accepting concept notes. Click here for more information. Close

RFA Information - East Africa

 

Request for Applications (RFA)

This Request for Applications (RFA) is issued by the Long-term Assistance and Services for Research: Partners for University-Led Solutions Engine (LASER PULSE) at Purdue University.  LASER PULSE is a five-year program implemented by a consortium comprising Purdue University (lead institution), the University of Notre Dame, Indiana University, Makerere University, and Catholic Relief Services. LASER PULSE is funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) under Cooperative Agreement 7200AA18CA00009.

Development Sectors of Interest: Basic Education*, Food Security, and Water Security

Region/Countries of Interest: East Africa (Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania)

*Note that Basic Education is limited to Kenya and Uganda only

Award Number and Size: 4 to 6 awards for a period of 12 to 24 months of research and translation; for this RFA we expect to award $1,000,000 in total funding across all awards.

 

Concept Note - Information

Full RFA applicaton information will be available to selected applicants following the concept note stage.

Download all necessary materials and templates to complete the Concept Note stage here. Download materials are located in a zipped folder and numbered by reading/completion order.  
Please follow the numbered steps below to complete eligibility requirements and submit your application.

Download

Application Submission Process and Timeline: 

Issuance of Request for Application:            27 September 2019 

Deadline for submission of questions on the RFA:     11 October 2019 at 2:00 pm GMT

Webinars (2) to address questions regarding RFA:     17 and 18 October 2019

Deadline for receipt of Concept Notes:        15 November  2019 at 2:00 pm GMT

Request for full application sent to selected PIs:    13 December 2019

Deadline for submission of full application:        17 January 2020 at 2:00pm GMT 

Expected award status notification:            21 February 2020

 

2:00pm GMT /5:00 pm EAT/ 10:00am EDT/ 8:00 am MDT/ 7:00 am PDT

 

 

For this RFA, prospective applicants are encouraged to thoroughly review the frequently asked questions (FAQs) document before submitting an application. This document is provided as part of the RFA package. 
Additionally, LASER PULSE will allow two weeks for prospective applicants to submit any questions concerning the RFA. Questions should be sent to Dr. Jane Okwako at jokwako@purdue.edu. Questions should be received no later than 09, October 2019 at 2:00 pm GMT. 
LASER PULSE will organize two webinars on 17 October and 18 October 2019 in different time zones to address questions submitted by applicants. Specific details will be announced on the LASER PULSE website and other relevant avenues, at least one week prior to the webinar date. Notification of this event will also be sent to all members of the Network via e-mail. The purpose of the webinar is to discuss questions received (without attribution to the organization that sent the questions). The questions and answers (Q&A) will be posted on the application website as an amendment to this RFA. Similarly, responses to questions received during the webinar will be transcribed and made available as part of the (Q&A). Additionally, the webinar will be recorded and will be available on the LASER PULSE website.

 

Download MaterialsRead full RFA
Complete Concept Note

Complete Required TrainingGender Analysis
Translation

Read FAQsFrequently Asked Questons

Submit MaterialsUpload Completed Documents by Clicking on Button Below